Water, please!

2

So… I had my first moment of being discouraged this morning when I went to the scale. You see, I am now on my third day of logging everything I eat, staying within my points, and going to the gym… And why am I discouraged? Well yesterday when I stepped on the scale I had an amazing celebration because it said I was already down 3 pounds! 3 pounds!!! In one day!!! I couldn’t believe it – I was on cloud nine! Then I stepped on the scale today and it said I was up a pound and a half again… So in other words, only down one and half pounds total. I was pissed. I have been busting my ass for three days straight and had nothing to show for it but a lousy pound and a half! And then… well then I laughed. I realized that I had been weighing myself each morning (which NO ONE ever recommends), and I had gotten pissed at myself for not losing weight quick enough! I have to realize  that this is going to take time. I have only been doing this for 3 days! 3 days!! It took me well over a year to gain all this weight, and I just demand that it all magically fall off in a matter of a few days? Yea right! Not. Going. To. Happen. I also need to stop obsessively weighing myself. I am going to start weighing myself once a week at the same time. This way I will get the most accurate reading and not get discouraged by that damn number!

This is most likely going to be the hardest thing I will ever work for, for myself. I am aware of this now. This could take months or even years, I have to be okay with that… Then I had a moment of joy after I spoke to a friend of mine. She looks absolutely FANTASTIC. Like, STUNNING. And she lost 90 pounds. She told me that it took her 8 months to lose her initial 80 pounds (which is AMAZING) and she said that she worked her ass off every single day. I thought to myself, 8 months, eh? I can stick with this – I can do this – I CAN DO THIS! I have already pushed myself to get my ass in the gym the past three days which is a battle alone. I pushed through headaches, and fatigue, and every f****** excuse out there the past few days, because I am the QUEEN of excuses. I can do this. I got this. NO EXCUSES. And then I thought, WOW in 8 months I could potentially be at my goal of losing 60 pounds! And then I thought, this could be my last Christmas as a “fat kid”! And then I got so excited! I am so excited to say GOODBYE forever to this weight. I am thrilled to say GOODBYE forever to that lousy pound and a half! I never have to see it again.. ever. I never again have to see my highest weight on the scale… ever… ever again… What a f****** AWESOME feeling!

One day at a time. No excuses.

Happy Wednesday, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Water, please!

  1. You go girl! It’s a hard reality when we fully come to realize that the pounds won’t come off right away. haha it’s especially hard after you’ve worked your ass off and think, I HAVE to be skinnier, and then you jump on that scale and see that you really aren’t. It is discouraging!! But don’t give up! Like you said, “One day at a time.”

    When I first started I did the same thing as you, I’d check myself every day. I’m glad you’re picking a day and just weighing yourself once a week!

    You got this! Proud of you!!!

    • Thanks so much girlie! It can be very very doscouaraging! But i told myslef this morning that all this hard work HAS TO catch up with me eventually! Day 4 and feeling good! Hope things are going well for you as well! We can do it!!! 🙂

Leave a comment